It has been since 2009 that I have opened this blog. Too many things have happened. I had radiation in Dec. 2009 in the neck and it was successful. It was a month in Sta. Monicas St. John Health Center. My husband Bruce and cousin Binky Garcia were with me all the way. My cousin even flew in from Wash. DC to give me support. I can say always that God gives you the right resources each time we go through a trial. The challenges become opportunities for others to reach out and help His children. It is so awesome to witness God's love each trial I have gone through.
I am happy to say the radiation was successful.
I shall stop here till the next time. I think this is a new beginning blog message. You shall hear from me again very soon.


Marlen
6/18/2013 02:28:56 pm

It is the 2nd day of treatment and I feel better. I have to say each day I receive a gift from an acquaintance, reminding me I am not alone in my journey of healing. The first day I found out I was going to have radiation a co worker commented that I was a blessing to her and that God had told her "Marlen is going through the wringer but see she is still smiling at Me" Smiling at the Lord inspite of the circumstances. I was so touched by her message and we just hugged. Then another co worker gave me a cuff bracelet that I was admiring from her and was surprised to receive it since she and I were just buddies but not that close. I "heard" a voice inside me say "the bracelet is a reminder God will hold on to you when you are going through this trial. Wow. What a beautiful way to be uplifted. God is so wise and knows exactly what we need to be comforted and consoled. Then another day a lady in church just handed me a medal of Our Lady of Miraculous Medal. My favorite Lady. How did she know? God only knew. And today I received from another co worker who happens to eat lunch with me once in a while at the nook and she handed me a medal of the Divine Mercy! What a gift. What gifts to receive as signs God is with me.
This is just how God works in our lives whether it is a trial or joy we are facing. I can only say sharing this gives me so much faith and strength knowing I am not alone in all this.
I pray for each one of them who gave these gifts because in some way they really did not know my real situatiion since they were just acquaintances. But God is no stranger to us. At least I can count on Him in all this. Good night now. Today is a better day then yesterday's first treatment. Thanks for your daily prayers.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/22/2013 04:23:01 pm

Thanks Lily for your wonderful announcement for the Assumption community to pray for me.
I have been amiss not writing in this blog since 2009. Time flies.
In 2009 I had to have radiation in the neck and after a month in Sta. Monica I have to say that the treatment was successful,
My husband and cousin Binky Garcia (another Assumptionista) was with me all along to give me support. So was Ching Hocson.
I stayed at a nice cottage and found time to heal with family and friends in such a beautiful city like Sta. Monica. God even knows how to provide resources when we are challenged: support, nice place to stay, great doctors and nurses care.
Then I travelled to the PI to visit my parents and siblings. Had 3 months of rest and fun with family and friends. Nothing better than good Filipino food and help all around you.In 2010 I was hired by my old boss to work at Bloomingdales and this is where I still am in 2013. God just knew when I could start working again and what I needed for my financial, social, emotional needs too. If we just listen to the messages and signs He sends all the challenges and trials we experiences will be opportunities to find His presence in our lives. I have so much to share but this is for starters. I am still blessed to be an Assumptionista and have so many prayer angels praying for me and my family.
I shall continue my blog in the next day. Please pray for me since I am starting 3 weeks of radiation in another part of my body. It is a serious setback but none God cannot help and support me with His graces. See you again in my blog.


Reply
Latha
12/23/2013 07:30:05 am

Marlen, am late in catching up with your blog. I am so inspired by your strength, wisdom and most of all, your wonderful attitude and unrelenting faith. Your honesty in telling your story has really touched me deeply. I will pray for you every single day and I send you a lot of healing energy. Much love, latha

Reply
Marlen Forbesd
2/5/2014 05:01:56 pm

Dearest Latha,
I share in your pain and grief losing your husband. We share in the losses of loved ones and in my case I had double mastectomy. It was hard to accept at first but once I surrendered all I received so much peace that now all is like normal. Like because you just live day by day moment to moment for God, your famiy and friends. You will be stronger from this trial you have because God is with you in this. Youe husband is the angel on your side now. How blessed.
God bless YOU and your family.
Marlen

Marlen Forbes
6/19/2013 07:23:17 am

Thanks Marcia for your kind words of love and wisdom most of all. You are a wise friend. I am embracing every pain and every encouragement as a sign of my love for God and everyone.
It sounds big but it is a simple lesson on true and pure love.

Reply
Marcia
6/19/2013 07:28:43 am

Glad to hear you are feeling better after two days of radiation treatment. And what a beautiful, inspirational account of special gifts appearing from unexpected places!! I agree with you, these gifts are God's gentle way of confirming for you (if you ever doubted it) His loving presence during these challenges. Thank you for sharing it with us. I continue to keep you in my prayers every day and look forward to your speedy recovery.


Reply

Reply
6/19/2013 08:17:42 am

Marlen, you are such an inspiration and God's special gift to me. You don't know how much you helped me through Mom's journey to heaven!

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/19/2013 12:44:42 pm

That is a tall order. God loved your mom so much that He sent me to help you out with your mom,. I am blessed. What are friends for di ba?

Reply
Joanne Young
6/19/2013 01:29:07 pm

OH Marlin,
YOU are really my hero ---- especially when I think back to your call to ACS. It was G-Ds way of having us meet !!!
You will get through this too.
I'm SO proud of you :)
You are in my thoughts and prayers daily !!
I love you my dear friend !!!
Joanne

Reply

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/19/2013 01:31:02 pm

You helped me from the start to get up and get going. Thank you for being such a friend. It has been 10 years now and I am still ticking. hahaha. Thanks to your comforting and reassuring words when I was panicking those days in 2003. I really appreciate the American Cancer Society for having you as their volunteer then.

Reply
chona mercado
6/19/2013 09:16:31 pm

Marlen, I draw strength of spirit from you. I hope God will grant me eyes like yours, because you always see joy and hope.... You are awesome, my friend.
He knows we need you here with us.

chona

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/20/2013 04:06:14 pm

I was just thinking of you. Somehow you are so generous in your exhortation and encouragement that I just think you are a mirror for me to see God's love in each of us. Thanks dearest friend. I just hope He plans to keep me long enough to make people see the good in themselves and the love they all deserve.
I hope you are fine. Forget about what I am going through in some ways it feels selfish. But I always think of everyones well being a lot.
Wish I could one day say "I am cancer free." That miracle ;moment would be awesome. Then again it is what it is. I just live each day to the fullest. And just enjoy each day with lots of laughter, gentle connections with people, and love for each other.
What worries me is my family i.e. my mom, my dad. ,my siblings, my husband and especially my son. They worry for me. How can I make them feel I am really fine? My son is so full of fear and it breaks my heart to see it when he knows his parents are ill. Only God can send him support and love. So please pray for him.
Take care Chona. You are a dear friend even if we hardly see each other. Love, Marlen

Reply
Marides Lacson
6/20/2013 07:16:16 pm

Hi Marlen! What a wonderful testimony of your faith in our Lord! I am so happy to hear that you're not "wasting your sorrows", so to speak. Yes, indeed, He is a wonderful father to have on our side in every circumstance of our lives.

Let me share with you my favorite verse in the bible, which happened to be my reading for the day. "Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything." James 1:2-4. This has been my personal battle cry whenever I go through any trials. I claim it together with Hebrews 13:5.
I will keep you in my prayers for healing, sustained strength and for your loved ones too!

God bless,
Marides

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/22/2013 03:13:35 am

Dear Marides,
Thanks for sharing that beautiful uplifting verse. I guess I needed to hear that today. I was feeling a bit low today, tired too and those are effects of treatments but your verse just reminded me to persevere. You are a wonderful friend. I am proud of you. Glad you were in my class .....regards to Gayle.
Tell her about the blog.

Reply
myra brodett
6/21/2013 07:41:28 pm

i love your blog,you are an inspiration to all of us facing trials,always all my prayers are for you!
all my love,
myra

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/22/2013 03:11:02 am

You are just as an inspiration Myra to me. You went climbed a high mountain in the last couple of years and I never saw you lose faith, Myra, thank you for your daily prayers. I feel them.
I am doing very well in the first week of radiation i.e. getting used to the routine and sleeping well too. I take meds to relieve some pain but all in all I cannot complain.
Love to your family.
Marlen

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/22/2013 04:28:32 pm

It has been a week of radiation time and I must say I feel better i.e. my vision is clearer and single again..and except for feeling tired I am fine. Thanks to Bruce who drives me to and from work and to th.e clinic, and friends like Mary , Millie and Jorge, Sue and Jay bringing us food for sustenance, we are one lucky couple. Blessed.
I don't have to worry about preparing any dishes for dinner ...what a treat.
I keep telling my friends to just trust and let go and all will be as it should be. I am so embraced with so much love and support. This is the miracle of the moment we are experiencing.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/24/2013 11:08:52 am

I am so exhausted. Tired. The effects of the treatment is extreme fatigue. I know this is temporary ; thank God it will pass. But so far I am feeling my vision is coming back. Something is working in the radiation treatment.
My friends continue to shower us with food for dinners and it is so helpful considering we have no energy to do anything. I have 2 days off coming up and I look forward to long naps.
Well, here's to a reenergized 2 days off.
Ciao.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/26/2013 01:27:17 pm

I am so reenergized. thrillTwo days off heped a lot and on top of it all I treated myself to an apple pro mac computer. Simple and basic. I am sew "toy". Always good to change one's focus when it is stressful by treating oneself with a walk in the beach, reading a good book. having lunch with girlfriends or just buying new clothes or a new computer in my case. So lesson learned is to change one's focus,

Reply
Marides Lacson
6/26/2013 04:40:39 pm

Reply
Marlen Forbes
6/27/2013 11:24:23 pm

It is always good to look forward to something exciting. July 6 I will be creating a new patio look with new flowers and plants. The old and beautiful bougainvillea we had collapsed one day and now it is time for a fresh change. My nephew Robert and sister Maryann will help me create this beautiful oasis and refuge I intend to use and enjoy

Reply
Patty
6/28/2013 03:58:45 am

Hi Marlen, enjoy your gardening project. It's gonna be hot outside though, so maybe this easy recipe works for that day. It's yummy, refreshing and pretty looking :D
8 cups watermelon (seedless, cubes)
6 tbsps honey (or agave nectar)
1/3 cup fresh lime juice (plus 1 sliced lime)
3 springs mint (or rosemary)

I love your notes. You are a very talented and sensitive writer. I am amazed how strong you are. I have a lot to learn from you. Thank you for opening your heart and welcome me into your blog.

I am your fan!!!!

Reply
Marlen
6/29/2013 01:05:31 am

Your English is good. As an ex English teacher I would rate you A.
Thanks for being a friend. For many reasons our lives have met.
My gardening project starts next week. Yeah! See you at work soon.

Reply
Marcia
6/29/2013 02:48:58 pm

OK, Marlen, found your new site.Be sure to tell us about the new gardening project!

And Patty, thanks for the watermelon drink recipe. It sounds perfect for the heat wave we're going through here in Sacramento.

Reply
Marlen
6/29/2013 03:36:14 pm

I have a small plot in the patio and I will buy plants on July 5 and then Robert, Maryann's son will help clean up the area .l..I cannot wait till the patio has new flowers.
Can't wait for the end result and I will take pictures and put in Facebook.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
7/2/2013 12:34:54 pm

Yikes! When taking a shower today a clump of hair fell out of the right side of my head. I can only remember 13 years ago when having chemo treatments when my hair fell off. While it is not the same case I still had the same feelings of loss. This is part of living with cancer.
Life goes on.
I am looking forward to this weekend when I get my 4 days off and when my patio will be soon a new plot of flowers and plants.
Have a great 4th of July!

Reply
Marcia
7/2/2013 05:15:32 pm

I'm working on my patio, too, in the front yard. I bought new plants a while ago, as well as some new pots and bags of potting soil, but just set them there "temporarily" until I had more time. Well, time to finish the job!

I had my hair fall out back before my hysterectomy, when I had a lot of fibroid tumors, incl one the size of a soccer ball. Stupid doctor didn't know about it or even look, instead just told me to wait for menopause. I could hardly get out of bed to go to work and was always exhausted. I changed doctors but not before about 1/3 to 1/2 of my hair fell out, also the last half of my eyebrows. Fortunately it all grew back eventually, as I'm sure yours will, Marlen.

Happy 4th of July!

Reply
Marlen
7/3/2013 11:57:57 am

Thank you for the laughter and the encouragement. I cannot wait to work on my patio this Saturday. Just resting these days to recover from this fatigue.
Have a great 4th of July. Don't burn the bar b.......

Marlen
7/5/2013 01:20:37 pm

Started the day with finding a wig...thanks to American Cancer Society it is free. The color is more red than normal but it is fun for a change to have a different hairdo look.
Then bought flowers to start off tomorrow's patio project. The place will lift me up soon.
Two projects, a new hairdo look and a new patio look sure gives one a nice lift and my fatigue is diminished.
One more treatment to go and I will be graduating from this procedure.
Can't wait....and then see what the results will be. I am optimistic for the best.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
7/9/2013 12:30:36 am

Had 4 days of rest and feel energized.
Yesterday was my last day of radiation. Yeah!
All things do pass.
Now back to routine. On the way to Sta Monica to see our oncologist. Wonder what she is going to recommend for chemo.
The battle continues but I know my faith will keep me up.


O

Reply
Marlen Forbes
7/11/2013 11:19:03 am

My oncologist whom I trust and respect has recommended finding a doctor for us in San Diego. No more trips to Sta. Monica after our last visit in August. It is time to change and while I will miss my present doctor I know it is more convenient to find a good doctor here in San Diego.
Feeling good about this new change to come.

Reply
7/19/2013 03:52:09 pm

Hi Marlen. You are truly an inspiration to everyone who meets you. You have a wonderful spirit and I miss you when you are not at work. I think about you often and you are always in my prayers....

Reply
Marlen
7/20/2013 03:02:59 pm

Thank you Jodi for your kind words. We all are mirrors of love to each other. Thanks for your prayers too.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
10/30/2013 07:29:34 am

It has been sometime since I have written. It has been to say the least a busy 3 months. I finally changed doctors only for convenience from Sta. Monica to San Diego. The next treatments they recommended for me were too intense to commute to Sta Monica weekly. So now it is worth it to have the new drug Taxol. And the good news is that even if I had to lose my hair the markers are going down i.e. the tumor is shrinking at last!
All the prayers and support and the research for new drugs has paid off. I have a little fatigue but that is all I feel. Praise God.
A coup! I also received the next week the quarterly award performance review.
So grateful for being acknowledged. I am so touched.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
11/30/2013 02:06:54 pm

This is a blessed time in my life. I have been feeling so at peace and so content. Finally seeing the value of lowering my expectations about relations, family, social obligations, work issues, health needs and spiritually I am out of the "dark night" of depression and anxiety to making it a priority to meditate. I am glad I don/t take the illness so seriously. I do my best to follow doctor's orders and I live free, as normal as possible. It is more an issue of not making people feel burdened by my condition. I am blessed no matter what. I feel better, and stronger in the spirit. It is the key to my finding strength in mind and body When my spirit is nurtured the rest follows. I recommend to anyone to follow the order of taking care of your spirit first and everything else will fall in place.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
12/4/2013 11:36:09 am

Today I received the greatest news that my markers have gone down from 2500 and after 3 months to 250! This is significant in my journey of healing.
It is the affirmation that we can be healed and to think positive always. In the last couple of months since attending the Healing seminar in La Jolla I learned that I, being a child of God, can be healed. I may not be cured but being healed is being made whole and complete. This is a miracle. I do everything doctors recommend and attend prayer sessions and receive so much prayer support and love from family and friends that my faith is dependent on trusting in God's results. He knows best. The peace I feel content that I am in God's hands at all times is the best gift to receive in this trying times. God is the Healer we all turn to. I pray for those who are looking for peace in the midst of their trials. If I can be a witness to others to have simple faith and one grounded on the Lord than my mission on earth is done.
The best Christmas gift to receive this year is the gift of FAITH and TRUST.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
12/8/2013 02:33:53 pm

Faith is a gift. In my journey of healing I am affirming that the cancer doctors claim in my body has disintegrated. I am in the state of belief and trust that all I ultimately believe in is in God's hands. The results are up to Him. So the prognosis the doctors give me is just that - a prognosis. I will give witness to God that He is the ultimate Healer. For me and my husband He is our healer.

Reply
Lily
12/25/2013 03:59:56 am

Marlen, "Be still and know that I am God". This is the bible verse that I go back to also. It is also Mother Loretto's favorite verse. When she celebrated her 50th Jubilee as a Religious of the Assumption, this verse was inscribed on her celebratory program. I am sorry to hear that Bruce has to take some health tests. You are a beacon Marlen, what an example, what a rare model of peace and calm through years of trial and tribulation. Almost 10 years of battle with this crazy disease and you're still standing. Please keep bringing light to everyone.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
12/18/2013 03:48:06 pm

What's new?
Right when things are looking progressive at least in my medical attention I cannot believe that now Bruce has tests to be done and hopefully biopsies are negative. Still in the "dark" but very hopeful that all will be as God wills. He alone we are trusting. We do feel blessed we are led for him to have a good doctor too.
So, now things are in the waiting game. The Lord always reminds us to "wait on Him" and "be calm and know that He is God".
I wish all those going through trial the sense of peace and calm I have in my heart. Trusting God alone is so rewarding. Ultimately that is our mission. To bring light to everyone.

Reply
Joanne Young
12/22/2013 11:40:24 am

Marlen, You turned out to be an inspiration to me ---- and you know what I mean :)
G-D will heal you because no one is finished with you and you're needed by us all.
I love you and have since we first met -- on the phone and again in person.
Bill was soo pleased with both you and Bruce !!
You are in our thoughts and prayers -- DAILY !!!
I await the day when you say "let's do breakfast, lunch or dinner"
It will happen.
SO, as I used to say --- to you: YOU GO GIRL !!
To Bruce: YOU GO GUY !!
Love you both -- did I say that already :)
Joanne

Reply
Marlen Forbes
12/26/2013 08:59:48 am

YEs we will have lunch or dinner or breakfast. Let's start next year 2014.
Love Marlen

Reply
Lily
12/25/2013 04:08:47 am

Merry Christmas Marlen, all those who posted on Marlen's resurrected BLOG, Assumption Prayer Warriors (Angels)!
Keep storming heaven's gates with prayers for those fighting cancer or in remission.

I received your text this morning. Ooops! Happy Birthday Baby Jesus.
So good to see you blogging. We had a great weekend in June. Am glad you decided to start Blogging again. Thank you for trusting me my friend, former educator, sister Prayer Angel. Your BLOG will and always be an inspiration to many. I am blessed and humbled.

Lily

Reply
Elma
12/26/2013 02:28:26 am

Writing in your blog, dear Marlen. On this day after Christmas - thinking of so many people hurting inside but still smiling & living life to the full whatever kind of graces our Sto. Bambino gives them. That includes you who is ever gracious & ever looking forward to more. What courage!!!

Reply
Marlen Forbes
12/26/2013 09:01:23 am

We are all mirrors of each other's faith and love.
Thank you for your kind words. Yes I do live full and at peace.
Happy too, Cancer is just a tool to help me be strong and test my faith,
Love, Marlen

Reply
Marcia Kiesse
12/31/2013 07:45:08 am

Hi, Marlen! I stop by every now and then to read your posts to see how you're doing. It's hard to keep up with you sometimes! Anyway, I wanted to personally (well, at least by email) wish you and your family good health, happiness, and a blessed and peaceful New Year in 2014.

Love you,
Marcia

Reply
Marlen Forbes
1/5/2014 01:26:34 pm

I am glad you wrote. I miss you and the gang. Wish this year we can get together. I am doing well and feeling good. Bruce is fine too. Each day is a gift.
Wishing you too a happy healthy blessed new year.
Let's drink to that!!!!!!
Love, Marlen

Reply
Marlen Forbes
1/15/2014 06:31:52 pm

My appetite and taste buds are back. I do not intend to gain back the lbs I lost and have started cooking!!!!! That is a small oracle. I opted to stop cooking when I started treatments since it was one energy I could to do since I work full time. But now I am ready and am an avid fan of Barefood Contessa, Ina Garten, who makes such simple dishes. I made her bolognese sauce already and I would say it was very good. Let me see what my husband will say about it in the next day.
Well this is new for me this year. I feel good and treatments are working very very well. Prayers are the reason.

Reply
Joanne
1/17/2014 06:20:47 am

OH Marlen,
You are such an inspiration !! I pray that Bruce is doing well too.
Did he enjoy your cooking ?? I'll bet so :)
LU,
Joanne

Reply
Marlen Forbes
1/18/2014 04:27:39 pm

The bolognese was a hit…hmmm red wine gr. sirloin, etc.
We are really doing well, considering what we have to face. Trials make one stronger.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
1/22/2014 07:55:18 pm

Had a great time with old friends. Good to reconnect and it just gives one a sense of warmth and love. One thing I will do this year is start reconnecting with friends I have not seen or talked to for some reason or other…time just keeps us apart. But I will try to reconnect.
Tonight was great with Yvonne and Alejandra who used to be my assistants at my old job. They and their husbands were so entertaining.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
1/29/2014 04:37:47 pm

I took a few days off to rest. It has been 5 months since the grueling new chemo drug was started. I am doing well, very well as far as tumor markers going down and having minimal if not almost no side effects. Praise God All the prayers are powerful. My faith is strengthened knowing so many are supporting me with kind thoughts, words and prayers. This is the essence of living well. Knowing we are loved and loving back. If I can inspire just one person to see how beautiful they are and strong they are in character then it is worth all the trials I am undergoing. And yet it is surreal i.e. I don't feel burdened. My burden is light and my yoke is easy, says the Lord. I know now what it is to have true peace, beyond all understanding. Cancer is no longer a bad word just a reminder we are mortals. And how we can overcome the disease by faith, love, peace. And courage.

My sister shared a beautiful story of how we are always provided for by Our Lord. I was mentioning how it is possible I could spend yearly such high medical expenses and where do I get the funds for it? She said it is like the multiplication of loaves and fishes. With what little resources we have God provides and does the abundant multiplying effect. By faith anything is possible.
Thanks Maryann.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
2/1/2014 04:04:31 pm

I had 10 great days just resting from work. Most of the time I made sure I slept in till 10am. It was a luxury. Tomorrow I start going to work. I feel ready to go back to work.
Good to take care of one's self.
It is healthy.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
2/5/2014 10:22:15 am

I had another great day reconnecting with an old friend Cathy, who used to work with me at Neiman Marcus and on days off or evenings we would go to prayer meetings and to adoration. We went to St. Therese chapel for adoration and just reminisced the peace we received with Our Lord in adoration. I suggest everyone go to adoration in their chapels and experience the miracle of peace in prayer. Peace beyond all understanding. And if you are not Catholic, just spend time in prayer alone, in silence. Peace He will give you.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
2/6/2014 10:27:21 am

I started my journey of writing a book. The title is Walking Miracle. It may change but that is my present focus. I am excited. It should take about a year to finish my book.
Afterwhich find a publisher print it out. My friend in Manila has a publishing company I plan to use.
Let's see where this leads me. The Lord will direct my path.

Reply
Marlen Forbes
2/20/2014 01:35:13 pm

Have another project I plan to do this year. learn to paint.
My doctor told me to live full and live well. I am doing just that.

Reply
Joanne Yong
3/18/2014 08:09:04 am

I love you my friend and hero !! You're in my prayers and thoughts daily !!

Reply
Marlen
9/15/2014 08:42:54 pm

I finally made the decision to retire from retail. 37 years of work is enough and now I focus on battling the cancer . I shall be healed .

Reply
Marlen
2/25/2015 11:52:51 am

Retirement in the last 6 months has been so refreshing. After a series of medical treatments that were grueling I can say the journey of healing has begun. Having good doctors , faith God is in charge , support from family and friends , enjoying now a moment to moment later de. Started meditation, acupuncture once again weekly, massage weekly, visits to the Blessed Sacrament . Having my den and bathroom remodeled . And going to Italy to visit St. Gemma 's tomb and Florence. Mom may come along.

Reply
lily Tamayo-Tanaka
6/13/2015 06:26:01 am

Thought I'd post. It's been over a year since the last entry by Marlen. Christmas 2015 I celebrated a weekend with Marlen, her twin Maryann, and Diding. We had a wonderful meal, and exchanged gifts. I was taking photos of Maryanns tree and trimmings. I also took photos of Marlen and she was very pleases with the outcome. We conversed about those in the prayer group who ate on their journeys. It was a relaxed and memorable weekend for us.

Reply
Lily
8/20/2015 12:12:19 pm

Thought I should post. Marlen and her sister are in Manila. Both traveled to Manila early August to celebrate their mother's birthday. We had a scheduled lunch date with Marlen, Candy, Gayle, and Marides but had to cancel due to a last minute procedure. True to form Marlen wanted the doctor to release her because of the lunch date.

Reply
Lily Tamayo-Tanaka
9/4/2015 11:48:33 pm

Today I received good news from Marlen ' s sister Maryann and her latest update in Facebook is as follows:
"Marlen is getting better - got out of hospital, her lungs are cleared of fluids, she's building her strength, she can breathe now - daily witnessing miracles
She cannot still go back - but we are focusing on her building her immunity , eating and basically getting well and strong. Thank you for your kind thoughts and prayers. They always mean a lot - friends known and unknown - silent but connected in most loving way! Thank you ! Each day we affirm that she is well and All is in Gods hands as it must be!"
In addition just a few minutes later I received an FB response of thanks from Marlen.
Praise God for all the little miracles.

Reply
Lily Tamayo-Tanaka
10/9/2015 04:12:53 pm

Hi Marlen
Just returned from the Assumption Retreat and Papal Visit in Philadelphia. Made the trip with your classmate and friend Susan Blaikie-Recto and her sister Tana. We remembered you and prayed for you in addition to all the intentions posted on our FB wall. Susan shared with us that both you had a lighthearted conversation being in ICU at the same time in the past summer. Susan brought home the Papal glow and shared it with her family including her mom Tita Auring. On FB Susan shared, "What happened in Philly was very subtle but felt by everyone on a spiritual level. So much love. So many blessings."

Reply



Leave a Reply.